Interview with Street Artist Korp 

Proud to present an interview with the contemporary and Peterborough based urban street artist Korp.

Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Korp and a draw worms although when I get time I cut multi layer stencils as well

How do you feel about street art in your current city/environment? do you like it?

Despite the Arts Council calling it a cultural blackspot Peterborough has a growing street art scene, there are some legal walls and a few writers that get up regularly. The city centre has a huge piece of street art by Blok Collective that covers the underpasses linking the city centre to the train station which is well worth a look. Its also worth taking a look at the Green Backyard where you can usually find someone painting or something creative going on.

There are lots of graffiti artists, How does your artwork stand out from the rest?

I stumbled across my Korpworm character a few years ago while taking part in the Boston Sketchbook project. It’s a very simple worm character that was quick and easy to reproduce but quite effective and easily recognisable. People liked what I was doing and it has slowly evolved over the years with arms and feathers to become my trademark. I find it’s a lot more difficult to stand out as a stencil artists as one multi layer stencil looks very much like the next.

What are the good and bad things about creating street art in your city?

The good thing about street art in Peterborough is the actual street artists who are all very talented and really easy to get on with. The bad thing is that there are not enough opportunities within the city for these artists, there are a few that try to juggle being an artist with organising events but that can be a challenge especially when they get more success and recognition elsewhere.

Who’s your favorite graffiti/ contemporary artist?

Tough call between Logan Hicks or Shepard Fairey, I’m in love with the intricate detail in Hicks multi layer stencils but I also love the bold mass produced propaganda style you get from Obey. It was seeing a Logan Hicks YouTube video of him painting Taipei Alley that motivated me to start cutting stencils.

How important do you think it is to be creative?

Very, its therapy. Whatever your mood on the day you paint it and bring it out in your work.

Korp at Gloucester Paint Jam 2014

To find out more information and artwork on Korp please see links below:

Korp Facebook Page
https://www.patreon.com/korporate

http://www.korporate.co.uk/

1 thought on “Interview with Street Artist Korp 

  1. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Korp at several events now and not only is he a great artist but he’s also a really sound bloke. I’ve followed his work for a while and I’m lucky enough to own a couple of pieces from him. I love the worms and seeing them develop over the years has been a great journey. I first came across Korps work on the culture show and I’m glad I did and I look forward to seeing him develop further in the future. I’m sure he will go from strength to strength and to be honest he deserves the inevitable success that he will achieve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment